Sex Offender Registration Defense Attorney
Sex offender registration is a very real burden. The requirements don’t end with initial registration. It limits where you can live. It limits the jobs you can have. If you move, change your job or graduate from school, you need to provide information to the registry in a timely way—often in person.
The unfortunate reality is that Texas makes it very difficult to comply with the requirements of registration, even if you want to. There are few offices where you can check in. Those offices don’t have uniform hours. Some are only open 2 or 3 hours a day. Some are only open 2 or 3 days a week! If you have a job, it can be really hard to stay in compliance under those circumstances even if you’re trying your best to stay on the right side of the law.
Legal Defense If You Failed to Comply with Sex Offender Registration
At Gireud | Hobbs, PLLC, our San Antonio criminal defense attorneys help people who have encountered problems with the Texas sex offender registration system. We know the very complex rules and can advise you about your rights and obligations. Call us at (210) 787-3916 if you are having problems or if you’ve been arrested for a violation of the sex offender registration laws.
Sex Offender Registration Rules Are Complex
Texas sex offender registration rules take up 15 pages in the criminal code, making it challenging to figure out the requirements that apply to you. Even if you know the rules well, it is sometimes impossible to comply. For example:
- You tried to notify the office and no one answered the phone
- You changed your job shift and the office was not open when you could get to it
- You had to move suddenly and were unable to report your change of address in advance
- You notified the office of a phone number change, but the clerk failed to record it properly
If you know that circumstances prevented you from abiding by the terms of your registration, it is important to follow up as soon as possible before the state catches up with you and brings new charges.
Penalties Connected With Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
If you are found guilty of violating the terms of the sex offender registration requirements, you could face significant consequences that include:
- Six months to two years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000 if you were required to register for 10 years.
- A 3rd degree felony conviction, two to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000 if you were required to register for life and verify registration each year.
- A 2nd degree felony conviction, 2 to 20 years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000 if you are required to register for life with 90 days verification.
Contact Our San Antonio Defense Attorneys
If you know you are in violation or have been told that you are facing new charges, call our San Antonio office right away. Our attorneys have experience negotiating with prosecutors on behalf of clients whose violation was technical or inadvertent. Call (210) 787-3916.